Academic Policies

Grade-Point-Average (GPA) Calculation
or Averaging of Grades

The grade-point-average is the arithmetic mean of the grade points earned for all credits taken at the University of Arizona for University Credit or by Special Examination for Grade, where regular grades are awarded. Ordinarily cumulative GPAs are calculated using only the courses at the career level of the student. For example, the undergraduate GPA is based on undergraduate courses only (see Graduate Credit for Seniors, Grade Replacement Opportunity, and Academic Renewal for exceptions).

Only regular grades (A, B, C, D, E) are included in the calculation of the grade-point-average. Grade points are assigned to each regular grade as follows:

Grade: Grade points:
A 4 points
B 3 points
C 2 points
D 1 points
E 0 points

To calculate the GPA, the unit value for each course in which a student receives one of the above grades is multiplied by the number of grade points for that grade. The sum of these products is then divided by the sum of the units.

For example, to calculate the cumulative GPA for these completed courses:

Fall: Spring:
BIOC 182 (5 units)  Grade:  A ANTH 195A (1 unit)  Grade:  A
SOC  101 (3 units)  Grade:  A INDV 101 (3 units)   Grade:  B
ENGL 101 (3 units)   Grade:  B    
MATH  110 (4 units)  Grade:  C    

Multiply the units represented by each grade by the number of points for that grade:

Grade: Units:   Points:   Grade Points (quality points):
A 9 x 4 = 36 grade points
B 6 x 3 = 18 grade points
C 4 x 2 = 8 grade points
Total: 19 units 62 grade points

The cumulative GPA is the sum of the grade points divided by the sum of the units.
In this case:  62/19 = 3.263

Related Topics: