Catalog Home UA Home Catalog Home Calendar Departments, Schools, Colleges Policies Courses General Education Majors Minors Search and Index Catalog Home

2005-06 Academic Calendar

The Academic Calendar includes the fundamental academic year dates and facilitates future planning.  Future year academic calendars are also available.  The Calendar does not include all of the registration- and payment-related dates.  It is compiled by the Office of Curriculum and Registration with input and approval from many other units on campus and final approval by the Arizona Board of Regents (ABOR).  These dates can only be changed with ABOR approval.

The External Link Registration Dates & Deadlines calendar lists the critical class registration- and payment-related dates, plus all dates included in the Academic Calendar and is also compiled by the Office of Curriculum and Registration with input from several other units on campus (Bursar's Office, Financial Aid, the colleges, etc).

External Link  Fall 2005  -  Winter 2005  -  Spring 2006  -  Summer 2006  External Link

 

Fall Semester 2005

International Graduate Orientation Wed-Thur, August 10-11, 2005
International Undergraduate Orientation Fri-Wed, August 12-17, 2005
Residence halls open Thursday, August 18, 2005
Freshman Orientation Program (last session) Thurs-Friday, August 18-19, 2005
New Student Convocation Sunday, August 21, 2005
Classes begin Monday, August 22, 2005
Last day to add classes for credit from zero units using only a Change of Schedule form Monday, August 29, 2005
Labor Day - no classes Monday, September 5, 2005
Last day to drop courses resulting in deletion of course enrollment from record Friday, September 16, 2005
Honors Convocations - no classes 3-5 p.m. (Family Weekend) Friday, October 14, 2005
Last day to drop a class with a grade of "W" (if passing) or to change to or from audit grading; the instructor's signature on a Change of Schedule form is required

After today, all registration changes require not only the instructor's signature, but also the Dean's signature on a Change of Schedule form. By policy, permission from the Dean to make a registration change requires an extraordinary reason.

Friday, October 14, 2005
Veterans Day - no classes Friday, November 11, 2005
Thanksgiving recess - no classes Thursday - Sunday, Nov 24-27, 2005
Last day of classes and laboratory sessions Wednesday, December 7, 2005
Reading Day - no classes or finals Thursday, December 8, 2005
UA South Campus: Last day of classes and laboratory sessions Friday, December 9, 2005
Final examinations begin Friday, December 9, 2005
UA South Campus: Final examinations begin Saturday, December 10, 2005
Final examinations end Friday, December 16, 2005
Residence halls close Saturday, December 17, 2005
Winter Commencement/Graduation Saturday, December 17, 2005

 

Winter Session 2005

Classes begin Monday, December 19, 2005
Last day of registration for credit Tuesday, December 20, 2005
Christmas Holidays - no classes Monday - Tuesday, Dec 26-27, 2005
New Year's Day Holiday - no classes Monday, January 2, 2006
Last day of classes and examinations Tuesday, January 10, 2006

 

Spring Semester 2006

International Orientation (Graduate and Undergraduate) Tues-Fri, January 3-6, 2006
Residence halls open Sunday, January 8, 2006
Freshman Orientation Program (last session) Monday-Tues, January 9-10, 2006
Classes begin Wednesday, January 11, 2006
Martin Luther King Jr Holiday - no classes Monday, January 16, 2006
Last day to add classes for credit from zero units using only a Change of Schedule form Monday, January 23, 2006
Last day to drop courses resulting in deletion of course enrollment from record Tuesday, February 7, 2006
Last day to drop a class with a grade of "W" (if passing) or to change to or from audit grading; the instructor's signature on a Change of Schedule form is required

After today, all registration changes require not only the instructor's signature, but also the Dean's signature on a Change of Schedule form. By policy, permission from the Dean to make a registration change requires an extraordinary reason.

Tuesday, March 7, 2006
Spring Break - no classes Saturday-Sunday, March 11-19, 2006
Last day of classes and laboratory sessions Wednesday, May 3, 2006
UA South Campus:  Final examinations begin Thursday, May 4, 2006
Final examinations begin Friday, May 5, 2006
UA South Campus:  Last day of final exams Wednesday, May 10, 2006
UA South Campus:  Spring Commencement/Graduation Thursday, May 11, 2006
Final examinations end Friday, May 12, 2006
Residence halls close Saturday, May 13, 2006
Spring Commencement/Graduation Saturday, May 13, 2006

 

Summer Sessions 2006

Summer Pre-Session

Classes begin Monday, May 15, 2006
Last day of registration for credit Tuesday, May 16, 2006
Memorial Day Holiday -- no classes Monday, May 29, 2006
Last day of classes and examinations Saturday, June 3, 2006

Summer Session I

Classes begin Monday, June 5, 2006
Last day of registration for credit Wednesday, June 7, 2006
Independence Day Holiday-- no classes Tuesday , July 4, 2006
Last day of classes and examinations Thursday, July 6, 2006

Summer Session II

Classes begin Monday, July 10, 2006
Last day of registration for credit Wednesday, July 12, 2006
Last day of classes and examinations Wednesday, August 9, 2006
Degree award date for students completing requirements by close of Summer Session II Thursday, August 10, 2006
 

Calendar | Departments | Policies | Courses | Gen Ed | Majors | Minors | Search | Home

FAQs and Comments    Updates and Corrections

The official UA Seal UA Official Seal is present at the top of each Catalog page;
the arrowExternal Link identifies links that leave the official site.

External Link Advising Contacts  Registration Info  Schedule of Classes  Student Link  UA Home

Page last updated:  July 21, 2009
Arizona Board of Regents All rights reserved.
General Catalog  http://catalog.arizona.edu/2005-06
The University of Arizona External Link Office of the Registrar