Calendar Calendar Departments, Schools, Colleges Policies Courses General Education Majors Minors Search and Index Catalog Home UA Home Catalog Home

2003-04 Academic Calendar

The Academic Calendar includes the fundamental academic year dates and facilitates future planning.  Future year academic calendars are also available.  The Calendar does not include all of the registration- and payment-related dates.  It is compiled by the Office of Curriculum and Registration with input and approval from many other units on campus and final approval by the Arizona Board of Regents (ABOR).  These dates can only be changed with ABOR approval.

The External Link Registration Dates & Deadlines calendar lists the critical class registration- and payment-related dates, plus all dates included in the Academic Calendar and is also compiled by the Office of Curriculum and Registration with input from several other units on campus (Bursar's Office, Financial Aid, the colleges, etc).

External Link  Fall 2003  -  Winter 2003  -  Spring 2004  -  Summer 2004  External Link

 

Fall Semester 2003

Residence halls open Thursday, August 21, 2003
International Graduate Orientation Wed-Thur, August 13-14, 2003
International Undergraduate Orientation Fri-Wed, August 15-20, 2003
New Student Orientation Program (last session) Thur-Fri, August 21-22, 2003
New Student Convocation Sunday, August 24, 2003
Classes begin Monday, August 25, 2003
Labor Day - no classes Monday, September 1, 2003
Last day to add classes for credit from zero units using only a Change of Schedule form Tuesday, September 2, 2003
Last day to drop courses resulting in deletion of course enrollment from record Friday, September 19, 2003
Honors Convocations - no classes 3-5 p.m. (Family Weekend) Friday, October 10, 2003
Last day to drop a class with a grade of "W" (if passing) or to change to or from audit grading; the instructor's signature on a Change of Schedule form is required

After today, all registration changes require not only the instructor's signature, but also the Dean's signature on a Change of Schedule form. By policy, permission from the Dean to make a registration change requires an extraordinary reason.

Friday, October 17, 2003
Veteran's Day - no classes Tuesday, November 11, 2003
Thanksgiving recess - no classes Thurs-Sun, Nov 27-30, 2003
Last day of classes and laboratory sessions Wed, December 10, 2003
Final examinations begin Friday, December 12, 2003
Final examinations end Friday, December 19, 2003
Residence halls close Sat, December 20, 2003
Winter Commencement/Graduation Sat, December 20, 2003

 

Winter Session 2003

Classes begin Monday, December 22, 2003
Last day of registration for credit Tuesday, December 23, 2003
Christmas Holidays - no classes Wed-Thur, Dec 24-25, 2003
New Year's Day - no classes Thursday, January 1, 2004
Last day of classes and examinations Tuesday, January 13, 2004

 

Spring Semester 2004

International Orientation (Graduate and Undergraduate) Tues-Fri, January 6-9, 2004
Residence halls open Sunday, January 11, 2004
New Student Orientation Program (last session) Mon-Tue, January 12-13, 2004
Classes begin Wednesday, January 14, 2004
Martin Luther King Jr Holiday - no classes Monday, January 19, 2004
Last day to add classes for credit from zero units using only a Change of Schedule form Thursday, January 22, 2004
Last day to drop courses resulting in deletion of course enrollment from record Tuesday, February 10, 2004
Last day to drop a class with a grade of "W" (if passing) or to change to or from audit grading; the instructor's signature on a Change of Schedule form is required

After today, all registration changes require not only the instructor's signature, but also the Dean's signature on a Change of Schedule form. By policy, permission from the Dean to make a registration change requires an extraordinary reason.

Tuesday, March 9, 2004
Spring Break - no classes Sat-Sun, March 13-21, 2004
Last day of classes and laboratory sessions Wednesday, May 5, 2004
Final examinations begin Friday, May 7, 2004
UA South Campus:  Last day of final exams Wednesday, May 12, 2004
UA South Campus:  Spring Commencement/Graduation Thursday, May 13, 2004
Final examinations end Friday, May 14, 2004
Residence halls close Saturday, May 15, 2004
Spring Commencement/Graduation Saturday, May 15, 2004

 

Summer Sessions 2004

Summer Pre-Session

Classes begin Monday, May 17, 2004
Last day of registration for credit Tuesday, May 18, 2004
Memorial Day Holiday -- no classes Monday, May 31, 2004
Last day of classes and examinations Saturday, June 5, 2004

Summer Session I

Classes begin Monday, June 7, 2004
Last day of registration for credit Wednesday, June 9, 2004
Independence Day Holiday-- no classes Monday, July 5, 2004
Last day of classes and examinations Thursday, July 8, 2004

Summer Session II

Classes begin Monday, July 12, 2004
Last day of registration for credit Wednesday, July 14, 2004
Last day of classes and examinations Wednesday, August 11, 2004
Degree award date for students completing requirements by close of Summer Session II Thursday, August 12, 2004
 
 

Calendar | Departments | Policies | Courses | Gen Ed | Majors | Minors | Search | Home

FAQs and Comments    Updates and Corrections

The official UA Seal UA Official Seal is present at the top of each Catalog page;
the arrowExternal Link identifies links that leave the official site.

External Link Advising Contacts  Registration Info  Schedule of Classes  Student Link  UA Home

Page last updated:  October 09, 2008
Arizona Board of Regents All rights reserved.
General Catalog  http://catalog.arizona.edu/2003-04
The University of Arizona External Link Office of Curriculum and Registration